Nebraska Announces 4 New Husker Football Hall Of Famers

first_imgNebraska's Alex Henery attempts a field goal against Texas.LINCOLN, NE – OCTOBER 16: Kicker Alex Henery #90 of the Nebraska Cornhuskers kicks a ball held by teammate Brett Maher #96 during their game at Memorial Stadium on October 16, 2010 in Lincoln, Nebraska. Texas Defeated Nebraska 20-13. (Photo by Eric Francis/Getty Images)Nebraska football has a proud history, and plenty of all-time great players worthy of recognition. Four more are set to join the program’s Hall of Fame this year.The Huskers announced a new five-player class for the Nebraska football Hall of Fame, with four former Huskers spanning the last five decades of program history. They’re joined by a star from a smaller local program.Mark Behning, Jay Foreman, Alex Henery, and Greg Jorgensen are the four former Nebraska football stars making the Hall of Fame.Henery is the most recent Husker on the list. He’s an NCAA record holder, making just under 89-percent of his career field goal attempts.Alex Henery, who hit on a NCAA-record 88.9 percent of his field-goal attempts from 2017-2010 during his time in Lincoln, headlines the 2019 Nebraska Football Hall of Fame Class. #Huskers— Husker Extra (@huskerextra) July 9, 2019 Henery is a school record-holder for total career points (397) and field goals (68), and hit 193-of-194 extra points during his career. He was an All-American as a senior in 2010.Foreman starred for the Huskers during their incredible run through the mid-to-late 1990s. He racked up 233 career tackles from 1995-1998, claiming two national titles and finishing as a Butkus Award semifinalist as a senior.Jorgensen is the earliest of the four players, starring along the Nebraska offensive line from 1975-77. He was a second team All-American as a senior.Behning was a key cog in the O-Line a few years later, playing tackle from 1982-84, and earning All-Big Eight honors.They’re joined by Richie Ross, a former All-American at Nebraska-Kearney who finished his career with 4,882 yards and 50 touchdowns.  Former Chadron State coach and athletic director Brad Smith has also been selected for this honor.last_img read more